top of page

Colorful Installation

One of the things that I most enjoy about my school is that there is constantly a new installation for the students to attend in the gallery room. It's accessible to everyone and they're always new, fun, innovative ideas. Many of them have been student guided projects that impress the school and have made their way to being a full-on installation, other have been a conglomerate of models or art pieces worked on by the students of a particular studio/section of the design class. There are also the occasional third party installations by outside artists wanting the students of the University of Puerto Rico's School of Architecture to see their work.

Last week, I attended an installation that had been up for a couple of days. I was sad I missed the opening day as that's when the artist [or artists] is there to present their work and they talk a little about what it is and what the meaning and inspiration behind everything is. Missing that opening day meant I didn't fully understand what was going on with all the pieces, but I enjoyed them and I hope you do as well. I took several picture so that we can possibly begin a conversation in the comments about possible motivations behind all the pieces and similar projects to them.

I would like to preface everything with the acknowledgement that all but one of the pieces seem to be in small groups that coincide with form or materials used. Also, I would like to mention that the description have "photo credits" of different people although I was the one that took these particular photos because the title and description blocks on each of the pieces didn't mention the artist names, yet they mentioned a photo credit. Because of this, I wanted to include the names of the credit that was given as to not take credit myself for the installation.

These give me the sense that either they are a conglomerate of different artists and their work throughout the years or that one artist showed a small part of their body of work. I hope you enjoyed this blog post, although a little different than my usual, and I also hope that a conversation can be started in the comments.

bottom of page