top of page

Graphic Narrations [CLASS OUTCOME]

Last week, my professor asked my class to present graphic narrations [which I already did a post on talking a little bit more about what I was hoping to achieve], and seeing what my classmates opened my eyes to the possibilities of what the narration could be. One of my favorite alternate proposals to the Juan-Navarro structures was substituting some of the roof/ceiling panels with translucent and color tinted panels. The way my classmate explained it was that the light passing through these panels would not only create interesting shadow patterns, but they [in theory] would mix between themselves and create new color patterns of the surfaces this light would touch. This proposal seemed especially interesting to me because it seemed to think beyond what most of us has originally thought of. My group and I had experimented a little with a concept very similar to this one as we chose to make the columns for both structures out of colored acrylic, lending itself to an interesting color scheme inside. With that being said, the thought of using more than one color hadn't popped-up.

Besides this graphic narration proposal, two of my group mates decided to make sequence videos showing how the structure came to life from nothing, to a column, to a column with a roofing panel, to lastly a series of columns with panels on them. Although they had both different approaches and ways of seeing this transformation, I believe its an effective way to understand the structure and its birth. My other two group mates made sequence videos as well, but hey demonstrated how the shadows changed throughout the day and with slight modifications.

As a whole, I believe we all did what we knew how to do and given the time we had. When all the sequence videos are placed together we have more of a complete graphic narration as we all showcase important aspects of the project from different perspectives, angles, and view-points. Due to the fact that we had the opportunity to do this, the next graphic narration we will have to compose will certainly be a more complete and versatile one.

bottom of page